About the Catholic Foundation

The Catholic Foundation of the Diocese of St. Augustine was created in 1987 to provide a permanent endowment to meet the religious, charitable, and educational needs of Catholics in the 17-county area of the diocese.

The foundation assists in meeting the long-term needs of the diocese, including funds for expanding existing parishes, establishing new parishes, expanding or establishing centers for religious education and social service programs, expanding or establishing schools, providing an adequate retirement for priests and women religious in the diocese, providing support for the formation of candidates for the priesthood and programs for youth and young adult ministries.

All parishes, schools, and many other ministries in the Diocese of St. Augustine have established permanently restricted funds.

To learn more about the Catholic Foundation, please see our 2021-2022 Impact Report.

Our Mission

The Catholic Foundation builds a Christ-centered future for the good works of the Church in North Florida through inspired charitable giving.

Our Vision

The vision of the Catholic Foundation is a Church generously endowed to fully support the development and charity of our faith community.

Our Values

To live our Catholic faith and create sustainable growth and partnerships with parishes, schools, ministries, and donors in order to build a strong future where the faithful can fully and generously live out their baptismal call.


Faithfully serving others in the name of the Lord.


Adhering to the highest ethical and professional standards.


Building relationships among parishes, schools, ministries, and donors.


Ensuring the growth of the Church for future generations through
responsible stewardship of generous gifts and resources.

A History of the Catholic Foundation

Catholic Foundation
By The Numbers

  • Year Founded – 1987
  • Total Managed Funds – 140+
  • Total Assets – Over $40 million
  • Fiscal Year Grants & Disbursements – $1,564,221

*All figures as of 6/30/2022

Catholic Responsible Investing

You can be confident knowing that your gift will be ethically invested in compliance with Church teachings. The Catholic Foundation partners with Christian Brothers Investment Services (CBIS) and Wells Fargo to align our investments with our mission – not only to produce returns to fund the good works of the Church in North Florida, but to reflect in the investments themselves the ethical and social beliefs of our Catholic faith.

CBIS and Wells Fargo employ socially responsible investing, an investment strategy designed specifically to allow our mission to work in harmony with the management of our investment portfolios. This method seeks to actively improve companies by encouraging worker, environmental, and social reforms.

The Catholic Foundation adheres to the investment guidelines of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) and screens out companies that disregard Church teachings.

We are proud of our growth and grateful for the generous donors who made it possible. We invite you to learn more about the Catholic Foundation in our annual reports. Since 1987, we have connected Catholics with the parishes, schools, and ministries throughout the 17 counties that form our diocese in North Florida.

Frequently Asked Questions

About Making a Planned Gift

Bishop John J. Snyder Legacy Leadership Award

Bishop John J. Snyder, 8th bishop of the Diocese of St. Augustine, was passionate about and committed to the development and utilization of gifts and talents by the entire people of God. The Bishop John J. Snyder Legacy Leadership Award was established to:

• honor those who have left a lasting impact on our Church through their support of the Catholic Foundation.

• honor those who exemplify the personal qualities Bishop Snyder lived and will be remembered for: compassion, tolerance, peace and the love of Christ.

Award Recipients

2022 Award Co-recipient

Msgr. Eugene C. Kohls

Bishop Emeritus Estévez and Catholic Foundation Executive Director, Patricia K. DiSandro, present the award to Msgr. Kohls, who designated the $1,000 honorary gift to the “Msgr. Eugene C. Kohls Priests’ Retirement Fund”

2022 Award Co-Recipient

William J. “Bill” Joos

Mr. William J. “Bill” Joos designated Bishop Kenny High School’s restricted fund as the beneficiary of the $1,000 honorary gift.

2020 Award Recipient

Ricardo “Dick” Morales

Bishop Estévez with Ricardo Morales who chose San Jose Catholic Church as the beneficiary of the $1,000 honorary gift.

2019 Award Recipient

Msgr. Vincent Haut

Msgr. Vincent Haut designated Immaculate Conception Parish the beneficiary of the $1,000 honorary gift.

2018 Award Recipient

Dutch Scholtz

Barbara Scholtz accepted on behalf of her late husband, Francis “Dutch” Scholtz, and designated the $1,000 memorial gift to San Jose Catholic School.

2017 Award Recipient

Robert T. Shircliff

Robert Shircliff was the first recipient of the award and designated the honorary $1,000 gift to Guardian Catholic School.

Bishop Erik T. Pohlmeier

Michael Maguire, CFP
Assumption Parish

Vice Chair
Jane Lanier, CFRE
St. Matthew Parish, Jacksonville

Msgr. Michael Houle, M.Ed., E.V.
St. Paul Parish, Jacksonville Beach

Mrs. Jacqueline Brown, PhD
San Juan del Rio Parish

Dennis Axman, CLU, ChFC, AEP, CFP, RICP
St. Catherine of Siena Parish

Martha Barrett
Assumption Parish

Marilyn Belo, J.D., LL.M.
Queen of Peace Parish

Juan Chaluja
Our Lady Star of the Sea Parish

C. William Curtis, III, J.D.
Cathedral Basilica Parish

John Delaney, J.D.
St. Paul Parish, Jacksonville Beach

Deacon Mike Elison, Chancellor

Debbie English
St. John Paul II Parish

Beverly Flanagan, CFP
St. Paul Parish, Jacksonville

Philip Moses, Jr., CPA, PFS
Epiphany Parish

Teresita “Tessie” Rosario, RN, MS
St. Catherine of Siena Parish

Deacon Santiago Rosado-Rodriguez
San Sebastian Parish

Sidney Simmons II, J.D.
St. Paul Parish, Jacksonville

Very Rev. Jason Trull, V.G., V.F.
Assumption Parish

Ex Officio Members

Tim Cebulko, CFA, CFP
Financial Advisor

Steve Bell, CPA, CGMA, CCM
Chief Financial Officer

Patricia DiSandro
Executive Director